About CSAB

    The Central Seat Allocation Board (CSAB) was constituted by the Ministry of Education (Erstwhile Ministry of Human Resource Development) in 2013 to replace the Central Counseling Board (CCB). The CSAB is responsible for centralized counseling of all Engineering/Technology and Architecture/Planning undergraduate seats in NITs/ IIEST/ IIITs/ SPAs/ and a few other Technical Institutes funded fully or partially by the Central or State Government (Other-GFTIs), together called the NIT+ System. By order of the Ministry of Education, CSAB and the Joint Admission Board of IITs (JAB-IITs) together constituted a Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) for joint counseling and seat allocation to IITs and the NIT+ System from the academic year 2015-16 onwards. The Seat Allocation to IITs is done based on the candidates’ JEE (Advanced) rank, while seat allocation to the NIT+ System is done based on the JEE (Main) rank.

    The CSAB for the academic year 2023-2024 (CSAB-2023) has been constituted by the Ministry of Education, with Prof. K. Umamaheshwar Rao, Director, National Institute of Technology Rourkela, as its Chairperson. Prof. Rao is also the Co-Chairman of the JoSAA-2023, which will jointly admit candidates in the first year of Engineering/Technology and Architecture/Planning Programs of all IITs (23 IITs), NITs (31 NITs), IIEST, IIITs (26 IIITs), SPAs (03 SPAs), and a few other Technical Institutes funded fully or partially by Central or State Government (35 Other- GFTIs) through JoSAA website ( At the end of JoSAA Rounds, vacant seats of the NIT+ system, if any, are filled through two additional CSAB-Special Rounds through its website (

    Based on the JEE (Main) 2023 rank, a separate CSAB-Supernumerary round is also conducted by CSAB ( for admission to supernumerary seats for Union Territories of Andaman and Nicobar, Lakshadweep, Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli in selected NITs. In addition, CSAB-NEUT rounds are also conducted by CSAB ( for allocation of seats under the scheme of “Reservation of seats in Degree Level Technical Courses for States / UTs lacking such facilities in the AICTE-approved institutions” to candidates of North-East states and Union Territories.

    The Office Memorandum of the CSAB-2023 is available on this site. Essential features of the Admission Procedure, Fee Payment and Refund Rules, Admission Schedule, list of Verifying Centers/Help Centers, List of Participating Institutes with the total number of seats under different categories, Fee Structure, Contact Addresses, seat distribution in the Institutes, etc., are available on JoSAA-2023 ( and CSAB-2023 ( websites. Candidates are advised to regularly visit the JoSAA and CSAB websites for updates and details regarding the online admission process.